Madhurie Singh . Com

How to build my own web site from my wordpress blog !

How to avoid link name getting chopped or truncated?

Posted by Madhurie Singh on September 28, 2009

I have a habit of writing long headings for my articles. I prefer providing as much information about my content just from the headline.But long headlines have their own problems. 😦

Long permalinks can get chopped off as well, with only part of it working properly or with the entire link disabled. This will cause a 404 error to be generated – but not because there’s something wrong with my permalink, rather because the title is too long.

Solution one:
To fix chopped permalinks I need to edit my .htaccess file and add a line:

RewriteRule ^post/([0-9]+)?/?([0-9]+)?/?$ /index.php?p=$1&page=$2 [QSA]

Solution two:
Another way to solve this truncation of link problem is by posting URLs with angle brackets () on either end. Most email and other problematic software won’t truncate URLs formatted this way.

I hope this solves my problem once and for all . 🙂

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
