Madhurie Singh . Com

How to build my own web site from my wordpress blog !

How to save custom changes in the existing Atahualpa theme for wordpress.

Posted by Madhurie Singh on September 21, 2009

I have four blogs that I plan to host under one domain name ! πŸ™‚

Hehehe I know it’s a tall want.

But I know the benefits of promoting one domain with different sections. I could have gone for categorizing the posts but I can foresee that my each blog is catering to different audiences.

So One thing I want is a different themes for each different blog. That way people will get confused.

There is one thing I have already encountered with customization of themes. When I reinstall wordpress or take a back up the settings have to be either re done manually or if if I am sensible, I make a file while has all the settings.

Initially I was using Andreas 09 theme but unfortunately it’s not designed well and has run time error. So I had to switch back to my favourite theme Atahualpa πŸ™‚

I am in love with this brilliant theme. I can do so many custom changes but 😦 I cannot save these custom changes. That is a drawback which I hope the makers of this theme will get over soon)

One funny thing happened today. I had dark green header. So when I added subscribe by email, I just could not see the words! I was quite fed up. Then I saw an option Over Style and Config. Under it was the first option Body Text Links.
I clicked it and found that by default the link colour is black. So in gark green background it was hardly visible. So what I did was change the link color to #FFFFFF which is white.
Then I went to change the other features. Later while cheching my website I was shocked to find that none of my links were visible. I was wondering now what kind of error was that! Then suddenly I realized that what if the link color had something to do with it. I found the reason for my error links. The links were there, but in while color, hence invisible in white background :).
So I changed back the link color to #999999, steel grey color. My problem solved.

In Atahualpa theme, there is a lot that is ready made but still it allows nearly everything to be customized.

If you notice using the same theme I have now three blogs up as three sites under one domain name :).

I have tried to keep the basic layout same but changed only the color. The color are also that which I have tried to keep as much close to the wordpress blog.
so http://www.madhuriesingh.wordpress.com = www.madhuriesingh.com/superindiankid
http://www.singhmadhuri.wordpress.com = www.madhuriesingh.com/howtobuildsite
http://www.singhmadhurie.wordpress.com = www.madhuriesingh.com/superindianmom

Now I have one home page www.madhuriesingh.com which redirects to different blogs.
That’s the advantage of going for BlueHost , they allow multiple blogs to be hosted under one single domain name.

To bring the Blog Title in the center, there is no provision. But it can still be achieved by pushing the logo to the right.

So Under Style and Edit the Header Area, edit the Logo Inage :Styling to margin: 0 10px 0px 480px;

I prefer soild border instead of Dashed. So where I see Dashed, I change it to Solid.

Also I perfer to have my PAGES displayed below the logo and images. So I have changed the Configure Header area to %logo %image %pages. I have removed unwanted lines and borders.

The rest of the stuff is easy to handle in Atahualpa.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
