Madhurie Singh . Com

How to build my own web site from my wordpress blog !

Deciding to Install wordpress in a subdirectory/ root on webhost of my website!

Posted by Madhurie Singh on September 8, 2009

I have now installed wordpress more than 50 times 😛 !

And I realize a few very important things in deciding where to install wordpress.

A: WordPress in the Root directory i.e. /public_html

This is a good idea only for those who have intentions to work with only one blog.
If tomorrow, I wish to start a new blog, like this current blog http://www.singhmadhuri.wordpress.com, then I will have problems.
I will then have to either create a separate subdirectory for the second blog2 or I will have to move the blog1 first into a subdirectory and then create a new subdirectory for blog2. Now moving wordpress installation to a subdirectory later at any point is tricky always.

B: WordPress in the subdirectory right from the start under Root directory i.e. /public_html/Blog1

This is an excellent idea. Any fresher must do this to have a clean root directory and have all wordpress installation of blog1 in a subdirectory called blog1.

If tomorrow I wish to install a second wordpress blog2 in the root directory, all I have to do is create a new subdirectory under root called blog2. i.e. /public_html/blog2

Also the problem of my URL with and added subdirectory name is solved by using the facility called “Redirecting WordPress” through CPanel. So people have to type only one url everytime to reach any of my blogs. i.e. http://www.madhuriesingh.com

C: WordPress installed in the root when I have only one blog, blog1. But later on I migrate the blog1 to a subdirectory under root directory called public_html. Now my final path looks like this /public_html/blog1

16 Responses to “Deciding to Install wordpress in a subdirectory/ root on webhost of my website!”

  1. topfoals said

    I am interested in getting assistance in installing wordpress
    can you help me? Would you please do this via elance?

    Jenna

  2. topfoals said

    my email is jverenka@gmail.com

  3. free backlink directory…

    […]Deciding to Install wordpress in a subdirectory/ root on webhost of my website! « Madhurie Singh . Com[…]…

  4. wordpress hosting…

    […]Deciding to Install wordpress in a subdirectory/ root on webhost of my website! « Madhurie Singh . Com[…]…

  5. Adriana said

    Adriana…

    […]Deciding to Install wordpress in a subdirectory/ root on webhost of my website! « Madhurie Singh . Com[…]…

  6. webhosting said

    webhosting…

    […]Deciding to Install wordpress in a subdirectory/ root on webhost of my website! « Madhurie Singh . Com[…]…

  7. Cheapest Webhost…

    […]Deciding to Install wordpress in a subdirectory/ root on webhost of my website! « Madhurie Singh . Com[…]…

  8. Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of the images aren’t loading correctly. I’m
    not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the same results.

  9. Explore Very Best Options To Eliminate Moles Forever

  10. dentist said

    My spouse and I stumbled over here by a different web address and thought
    I might check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to finding out about your web page for a second time.

  11. netbooster said

    Hi, i feel that i noticed you visited my site thus i came to return the choose?
    .I am attempting to in finding issues to enhance my web
    site!I suppose its adequate to make use of some of your
    ideas!!

  12. Do you have a spam problem on this site; I also am a blogger,
    and I was wanting to know your situation; many of
    us have developed some nice procedures and we are looking to trade strategies with others, be sure to shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  13. homepage said

    I seriously love your blog.. Great colors & theme. Did you create this amazing site yourself?
    Please reply back as I’m attempting to create my very own site and would like to learn where you got this from or exactly what the theme is called. Appreciate it!

  14. Hey there! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against hackers?
    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard
    on. Any tips?

  15. I am really enjoying the theme/design of your website.
    Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility problems?
    A handful of my blog visitors have complained about my website
    not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox.
    Do you have any recommendations to help fix this problem?

  16. WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching
    for random name generator

Leave a Reply

 
