Madhurie Singh . Com

How to build my own web site from my wordpress blog !

Unable to Create / Upload / Parent Directory not Writable by Server !

Posted by Madhurie Singh on September 6, 2009

I am testing my website before I launch to the world.

I tested earlier by writing a test post, which I could post successfully. šŸ™‚

I want to add an image into a page.

I tried browser uploader but it was too slow. So I tried Flash uploader.
Ok it did start uploading the image, but at the end of the upload it gave me this error šŸ˜¦
error uploading image parent directory not writable

1. The first thing I am going to check is whether I have the Permission to write in the parent directory or not?

I click the “mysqldatabases” in CPanel. And give all the privileges to the user name that I am using to access the wordpress wp-admin account.
give all privileges to user

Let me check again, if now I can upload image.

Bad Luck ! šŸ˜¦ Still the same error.

I tried changing the option in Miscellaneous Setting by Unchecking the options create directories of months, but that too did not work :(.

So now I need to know if the database is writable or not. Which means, that there are ways to prevent writing accidentally to the database.

I went to the File Manager through CPanel.

I clicked wp-content directory and changed the permission to 777 from 755.
But still the image cannot be uploaded. šŸ˜¦

I can feel my brain thickening with frustration.

Lemme shut the laptop and sleep over it. Good Nite šŸ™‚

Ok I am fresh, my lappy is also cleaned, no virus, no dupicates, no garbage. Well I ran an updated AVG to scan and clean system. My poor laptop was struggling to cope up with humungus rubbish! I feel lighter too. Slept at 1:00am, which is early by my standard. šŸ˜› . Hehe

Lemme now start with giving a fresh search on my problem. Wow Google search has given back so much so fast that I am in love with the search engine.

http://andywibbels.com/2006/12/wordpress-error-unable-to-create-directory-wp-contentuploads-is-its-parent-directory-writable-by-the-server/

Let me try this link.

It says all that I have tried already. I have checked for the uploads directory, changed the permissions, changed the path, deleted the month and year directories.

Ok the comments also are with me, lots of people are in the same boat like me. Done everything possible yet not able to get the picture uploaded !
So now what?

Hmm there is a comment which says Bard
Here’s what fixed it for me…
Go into Misc Settings and check the address for the uploads folder. Mine had an extra slash.
It should be “wp-content/uploads/ā€
NOT “/wp-content/uploads/ā€
08/07/2008 at 11:57 A

no slash changed the writable error

Let me see, if that is the problem. I change my path from /wp-content/uploads to wp-content/uploads
YIPPYYYYYYY !!!!

IT WORKS !!!!!
šŸ™‚

But wait ! Why am I not able to upload the image to my page!
OH GAWD ! Not again !

Step 1. Create a test page and check if it is visible/ accessible on the site http://www.madhuriesingh.com . Yes it does.
Step 2. Upload a test image and check. Yes it uploads and is visible too.
Step 3. Rename the test page as Movie Review for Kids. And upload the desired picture. Yes all of these works šŸ™‚

Step 4. Thank the Saviour whose comment helped me .
DONE , Since it’s my lucky day , lemme try and do as much work possible wrt wordpress and my website !

16 Responses to “Unable to Create / Upload / Parent Directory not Writable by Server !”

  1. bill said

    good lord!…thank you soooo much for spelling this out for me!

  2. Jim said

    Thanks for the great article, helped me out, it is the crazy little things that can eat up all of your time.

  3. Ravi Kumar said

    Hi..

    Thanks for your great article… When am reading your post.. i feel very happy.. yes.. i hope here is so many solutions, so i feel any answer will works, but am not, it’s still not works for me :(.

    Last two days onwards am tried to fix this problem.. I done all above mentioned modifications in my site. But Still i got same problem. Is there any other suggestion please let me know..

    Thanks in advance ..

    Thanking You,
    Ravi Kumar

  4. ankam said

    Thanks a lot. Awesome post.

    The way you have written the post impressed me to continue till end. Good work.

    But the thing is, It didn’t help me out šŸ˜¦

  5. Susan said

    Thank you so much: this worked for me after weeks of frustration. It was brilliant the way you illustrated exactly what to do. I had almost decided to remake my web site becauae I couldn’t upload what I wanted to upload to it. And the problem solved by removing a ‘/’ I’m so pleased to have found this answer.

  6. Thank you so much for this.This was the second link I clicked on Google and boy am I glad you wrote it because it saved me a lot of head scratching. Who’d have thought the upload directory path could have such a simple error.

  7. Anonymous said

    Wow, infact i must say that this post is absolutely superb. Now i can explore wordpress after going through the search engines and various pots, this particular post has finally solve my predicament. bravo…

  8. Das starke Firmenverzeichnis in Deutschland 2010 – Die Anzahl der Besucher betrug bei DieGewerbeseiten im September 14.9 Mio Internet-Besucher…

    […]Unable to Create / Upload / Parent Directory not Writable by Server ! « Madhurie Singh . Com[…]…

  9. Thanks thanks thanks šŸ˜€ Worked like a charm for me!! Yey!!

  10. Soome posts cause you to laugh, other posts make you feel sad, this one made me think,
    and that is better thazn any other reaction.

  11. Having read this I believed iit waas really informative.

    I appreciate you findng the time and energy to put thius short article together.
    I once again find myself spending a significant amount of time bokth reading and leavinhg
    comments. But sso what, it was still worthwhile!

  12. Vanita said

    Hey! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came
    to look it over. I’m definitely enjoying the
    information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my
    followers! Excellent blog and excellent
    design.

  13. Marcella said

    I read this article fully regarding the resemblance of hottest and earlier technologies,
    it’s remarkable article.

  14. Hi there! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from
    an established blog. Is it difficult to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick.

    I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to start.

    Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Thank you

  15. Post writing is also a fun, if you be acquainted with then you can write if not it is complicated
    to write.

  16. Thanks a lot for sharing this with all people you really realize what you’re speaking
    about! Bookmarked. Kindly additionally talk over with my web site
    =). We can have a hyperlink exchange arrangement between us

Leave a Reply

 
