Madhurie Singh . Com

How to build my own web site from my wordpress blog !

Exporting, Importing, Settings of WordPress for My BLOG Website!

Posted by Madhurie Singh on September 2, 2009

Once the installation by SimpleScripts of WordPress is complete, I received a mail and a pop up page confirming the site URL and the site administration path. The email sent by SimpleScripts also mentions the password of the database.

This is the Page on successful installation of wordpress.

Page on successful Worpress installation

When I clicked on the URL HTTP://WWW.MadhurieSingh.Com , I was taken to my own site! WOW what feeling! This is what I saw:
MY Blog Page

Earlier I had done some mistake in naming the database. So when I clicked my URL, I was taken to this Default.HTML page!
first look of my site

It’s got My site name and a few ads, that’s all!

Since I am still learning, I glad I did this mistake. I know now that to install wordpress the best way is to let all default settings run initially. Later all these details can be changed.
So I again go back to the SimpleScripts. The page shows my earlier WordPress installation script. I click Uninstall to remove the last installation of database and other details.

When I had tried to access http://www.madhuriesingh.com/wp_admin, it had shown my this page.
Error while accessing the wordpress wp_admin1

Whenever I get this kind of erroneous page, I have the liberty to delete the wordpress script that I had installed last. And start a fresh Install on WordPress.

But this privilege is exercised only because I have not yet announced my website to the world. I am in my testing stage which is the most crucial step. I am in mood to hurry up. I may take 2 more months before I am confident to launch the website http://www.madhuriesingh.com to the world.

Now I have to export the wordpress files from my http://www.madhuriesingh.wordpress.com to my computer.
SO I go to the wordpress blog. Click Export under TOOLS.
exporting wordpress blog

An xml file will be downloaded and saved in my computer. wordpress.date.XML

Now come back to my site admin page http://www.madhuriesingh.com/wp-admin page.
Here I Click IMPORT under TOOLS.
Click Import under Tools in WordPress Admin page

I am again taken to the page where I have to click WordPress that is found in the last row.
I click WordPress

I select the xml file which was downloaded as wordpressXXX.xml .

Click wordpress after Import button is clicked

When I click Import button in Tools of wordpress
The uploading of all posts, images etc begin one by one.
while importing wordpress xml file from my computer
And there I am, DONE with my wordpress IMPORT! 🙂

Now when I go back to my site http://www.madhuriesingh.com

I can see the posts written by me with pictures and pages.
my site after wordpress is imported

The Site Title is still “MY BLOG” 😦

So now I have to change the Settings so that my site looks more personalized.

I click GENERAL SETTINGS and change the BLOG TITLE to “MADHURIE SINGH.COM”

Change the Tag line that always follows the BLOG TITLE to “All about Kids, product review….”

Change other settings, time zone, date and time format etc.
settings page of wordpress site

I save the settings and click the WRITING SETTINGS, be enabling everything.
I leave the mail setting untouched and save the setting.
writing settings for wordpress site

Next I change the READING SETTINGS.
Here there one very important setting to be done in order to have a static homepage, instead of the recent posts that appears in the home page.

I first create a new page with title “Indian Mom’s Review’s for Kids” and add content that I want to appear on my homepage always. I assign this page as Front Page under STATIC Page.
Then I create another page called “RECENT POSTS” and assign it for Posts Page. This page “Recent Page” now will show all my recent posts, instead of the Home page.
How to make a static home page in wordpress

I save these settings.

And click Discussion Settings. Here I make sure the comments are nested and needs moderation.
discussion setting for wordpress site

I click save button.

I leave the MEDIA and PRIVACY settings as it is.

Now I click an important setting called PERMALINKS.
This setting allows how the posts will be indexed and appear in the search. It’s important that I change it to
Day and name http://www.madhuriesingh.com/2009/09/02/sample-post/

This way the search engines will be easily searching the file headings instead of some numbers.

Permanent setting of the posts in wordpress site
I save the settings.

The last setting I have to make is under MISCELLANEOUS settings.
This has the path name where all files will be uploaded into my server directory.
Default is wp-content/uploads and I should not touch it unless I am changing my subdirectories.
Then in order to organize the Uploads into months and year folders with time track, I click the other two options too.
Miscellaneous setting of wordpress site

I save the last settings.
Now this is how my Site looks. 🙂
My site after settings changed

Mission Completed 🙂

In the next post I will be try to install the wordpress into a sub directory by shifting all the wordpress files from root directory i.e /public_html to sub directory say /public_html/only4kid

16 Responses to “Exporting, Importing, Settings of WordPress for My BLOG Website!”

  1. belegge said

    My coder is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP.

    I have always disliked the idea because of the
    expenses. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using
    Movable-type on numerous websites for about a year and am worried about switching to another platform.
    I have heard great things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress
    content into it? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  2. If some one needs to be updated with most recent technologies after that he must be visit this site and be up to date daily.

  3. aimbot said

    What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It absolutely
    useful and it has aided me out loads. I am hoping to give a contribution & assist different users like its
    aided me. Good job.

  4. Quality content is the secret to interest the viewers to visit thhe web page,
    that’s what this web ite is providing.

  5. It took me about 9 hours to finish it, but I skipped a fair bit
    of the exploration in some of the larger levels.
    Interesting wallpapers that give you an idea
    what the game is about. Other than those couple of shortcomings, this is another great offering from Ubi Soft that I would recommend to anyone for purchase.

  6. Thanks for a marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it,
    you may be a great author.I will always bookmark your blog and will eventually
    come back at some point. I want to encourage you to definitely continue your great work, have a nice weekend!

  7. nodules said

    Thank you, I’ve just been looking for information approximately this
    subject for a while and yours is the greatest I’ve
    found out till now. But, what in regards to the bottom line?
    Are you certain in regards to the source?

  8. Eddy said

    I have been surfing online more than three hours today,
    yet I never found any intertesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if
    aall webmasters aand bloggers made good comtent as yoou did, tthe internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  9. deploy hr said

    Thank you, I have recently been searching for info about this topic for a
    long time and yours is the greatest I have came upon till now.
    However, what about the conclusion? Are you positive about the source?

  10. Hi to every , for the reason that I am in fact keen of reading this web site’s post to be updated regularly.
    It contains good information.

  11. With the car off the security and level, add the
    staying 50 percent qt. “Baby Harper is the most beautiful baby girl I have ever seen. Cotton scarfs and pillowcases can absorb your essential oils and moisture from your hair.

  12. I got this website from my friend who informed me about tgis web
    site and now this time I am visiting this web site annd reading very informative content at this place.

  13. Good day! This post could not be written any better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room mate!
    He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this page to him.
    Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

  14. I know this site offers quality based articles and other material, is
    there any other site which presents these information in quality?

  15. Katja said

    Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this
    site before but after going through many of the posts I realized
    it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely pleased I discovered it and I’ll
    be book-marking it and checking back often!

  16. Attractive part of content. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to say that
    I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I will be subscribing on your feeds or even I fulfillment you get admission to
    consistently fast.

Leave a Reply

 
