Madhurie Singh . Com

How to build my own web site from my wordpress blog !

How to choose a Web HOST for my future site?

Posted by Madhurie Singh on August 17, 2009

Now that I have decided to go on my own, instead of the SiteSell, I am relieved. 🙂

SO the next step is obviously to hunt for a good reliable host.

Now I don’t even know what is the meaning of good host.

So thanks to the flood of information on the internet, I managed to sieve and pick a few site which define the criteria of a good host. Phew !

One way is to look for the hosting company under any good site that I want to emulate.

I am inspired by Steve Pavlina’s blog but need more features and things than his site displays.

Second way is to search for the sites which rate or review web hosts. www.findmyhost.com/get_started_guide.asp .  But I am not as of now interested in spending a dime, when the net is magnanimously sharing free information.

Now my next step is to find another blog or review that will provide me with features to look for in a good web host.

This one looks like a good blog.

http://www.hostingreviewdirect.org/dummies/web-hosting/what-are-the-right-questions-to-ask-when-choosing-a-hosting-provider-74.htm

Naah ! this site was also useless and provides no information.

The last site I am going to check before I move on to my next strategy.

http://www.caroline-middlebrook.com/blog/files/NicheSitesWP.pdf

Oh my God ! Is this a god sent site or what ? !!! This is excatly what I was looking for ! God bless Caroline !

  • First domain included free for life, well now some offer unlimited domain hosting.
  • Min 500GB disk space to unlimited disk space.
  • Do it yourself SiteBuilder which is offered for free by good hosts.
  • 1000 to unlimited POP3 support with all basic Emails support and feature.
  • 6,000GB of transfer bandwidth
  • Unlimited site / file transfer
  • File access and safety of site
  • Multimedia features
  • CGI and Database with several option and  minmum 50 MySql Databases
  • Unlimited add-on domains and other domain related stuff.
  • Fantastico Script support
  • Free Drag and Drop Site Builder
  • World class technology at par with all good web hosts.
  • My third way to find a good web host  is to go to the recommended hosts as mentioned by wordpress.org and read their features.

    The wordpress.org recommends Blue Host, Dream Host, Media Temple, Just Host and Laughing Squid.

    I have lots to read and compare 🙂 . I will compare about all HOSTING FEATURES of all the web hosts reccomended by WordPress.Org. There are lots of technical words that are new and I am going to read a brief on each one of them. I will use wikipedia as much as possible. If there is a better site which explains these technical terms easily, I will post the site names here.

    Leave a Reply

         
